Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool 4/6 for the Premier League Title


John Barnes topped Liverpool‘s scoring charts with 22 top flight goals the last time Liverpool won the top league in English football. That was during the 1989/90 season before the Premier League had been invented.

But this season’s two horse race now seems to be turning into a canter for Klopp’s ‘mean machine’ as City tail off with three defeats in their last 4 games.

1989/90 King Kenny Dalglish Ran the Show

Back in 89/90, Kenny Dalglish ran the show with Bruce Grobbelaar in goal. After 19 games he’d picked the ball out of the net 20 times with, you’ll never win anything with kids, Alan Hansen looking on. In midfield, Kenny had the likes of Steve McMahon, Ronnie Whelan with Barnes, Peter Beardsley and Ian Rush up front. After 19 games this team had scored 39 goals with 9 coming in one match on the 12th September against Crystal Palace. Between the 21st October and 11th November, they lost 3 out of 4 including a 4-1 drubbing at Southampton.

Before the turn of the year they lost one more but in 1990 they were relentless and only lost once. Aston Villa finished 2nd. Sheffield Wednesday, Charlton, and Millwall were all relegated. Match of the Day’s Gary Linekar won the golden boot, with 24 goals, as Spurs finished 3rd.  In the F.A. Cup Liverpool made it to the semi-final where they lost 4-3 after extra time. Their conquerors that day, taking revenge for that black day back in September, were Crystal Palace who lost a replayed final against Manchester United.

Jürgen Klopp’s Invincibles?

All teams have blips during a season but Klopp’s team does have an invincible look about them. Mean at the back, strong in midfield, and probably the best front 3 around. Klopp’s not won anything yet but a ‘Klopp Celebration,’ when it does happen, should be worth watching!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top